The Monastiraki Metro Station
Built between 1890 and 1895, Monastiraki Metro Station became the first steam-train railway connecting Athens and Piraeus. Having operated locally since 1869, its main terminal was located in Thission, with an extension to Monastiraki later built by businessman, Stephanos Psihas.
During construction, extensive archaeological excavations were conducted, revealing a plethora of interesting relics, many of which are still present today. In 1904, the steam trains were converted to electricity and from 1926 to 1930 the line was further extended to Omonia station.
In 2000 this station, along with all other older stations, was fully refurbished and now stands as an architectural gem displaying a myriad of antiquities.